Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Modes vs Pentatonic Scales used in Blues

Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2014-01-29

PM

Here's my question:
I am a returning guitarist after being dormant for nearly 20 years.
I was a very active heavy metal lead guitarist in the 80's often being the only guitarist in bands.

I primarily played modes and scales such as harmonic minor, but now that I've returned to guitar land I only wish to be a blues guitarist. And not a hard rock blues player either. Nope, I want to be a blues guitarist in the purest sense.

However, I am having to re-teach myself to use pentatonic scales. I'm loving it, especially the major scales, but I constantly want to revert to playing modes.

How do modes work interchangeably with pentatonics? Do they? For instance; using a Dorian in place of say, the first position of a minor pentatonic, or a Phygian when you'd typically use a first position Major Pentatonic?

Does this work? Or is it just a bad idea?      
RankRankRank

Total Posts: 57

Joined 2013-12-26

PM

Well, you could begin your second position pentatonic scale on the second note of the 1st position position scale and call it Dorian mode although it's technically not correct if you're playing the minor pentatonic. But I'd put the modal stuff on the back burner. The most important relationship to get is that of major pentatonic to minor pentatonic.

You can either move your 1st position minor pattern down 3 frets to get the corresponding major position or play the 2nd position minor as if it started on the 1st note of the 1st position in the key you are playing and you're good to go. As an example of the latter in the key of A you would simply overlay the second position minor pentatonic form beginning at the 5th fret as opposed to it's otherwise minor position beginning at the 8th fret (referring to the low E string here).